HCLTech Versant Test 2026: TechBee and GET Guide
Prepare for the HCLTech Versant round with official TechBee steps, Pearson's current 40 item format, current GET reports and a two week practice plan.
HCLTech directly confirms a Versant stage for TechBee, its early career program after Class XII. Its official selection page places Versant after HCL CAT and before the interview. HCLTech does not publish the product version, section list or universal pass score there. Current 2026 candidate reports also mention Versant in GET and campus hiring, but those reports should not be turned into a rule for every HCLTech vacancy.
Pearson's current English Speaking and Listening Test takes 17 minutes and contains 40 items. The older 63 item English Speaking Test is retiring soon. Check the product name and sample link in your invitation before deciding which format to practise.
In this guide: key takeaways | hiring position | current Pearson test | question types | score | research | two week plan | setup | sources | FAQ
Key takeaways
- HCLTech officially names Versant in the TechBee selection process.
- Current candidate reports indicate use in some GET and campus processes, but the sequence can vary.
- Pearson's current Speaking and Listening Test has 40 items and takes 17 minutes.
- The older 63 item English Speaking Test is retiring and should not be the default.
- HCLTech does not publish one Versant cutoff for all programs and roles.
- Use SpeakShark for underlying speaking practice, then use Pearson's material for format.
Where the Versant test sits in HCLTech's hiring process
For TechBee, Versant appears between HCL CAT and the interview. This official sequence does not establish the process for every graduate, lateral or country specific vacancy.
Here is the sequence HCLTech publishes for its TechBee early-career program, alongside what candidates in other HCLTech tracks describe:
| Stage | What happens | Source status |
|---|---|---|
| 1. Registration / application | Fill the complete application form | Official: HCLTech TechBee FAQ |
| 2. HCL CAT (Career Aptitude Test) | "Quantitative, logical reasoning and language abilities" | Official: HCLTech TechBee FAQ |
| 3. Versant test | "Undergo a language abilities test including spoken English" | Official: HCLTech TechBee FAQ |
| 4. Interview | "Face-to-face interaction with HCLTech selection committee" | Official: HCLTech TechBee FAQ |
| 5. Offer | "HCLTech will issue Letter of Interest/offer letter" | Official: TechBee selection FAQ |
| GET and campus tracks | Versant appears in several current candidate reports | Candidate reported, not a universal HCLTech statement |
| Versant cutoff score | Not stated | Not published by HCLTech. Numbers circulating online are candidate reported |
Two things follow from that table.
The page establishes the sequence, but it does not publish scoring rules, pass marks or retake policy. Prepare as though the result matters without claiming that every HCLTech program treats it identically.
The official TechBee job program page adds a current exception. Candidates with qualifying 2025 or 2026 IIT JEE Main results may be exempt from HCL CAT and proceed directly to Versant and interviews, while other eligibility criteria still apply. This exemption concerns HCL CAT, not the Versant stage.
If you are comparing employers, see the separate guides for TCS and Cognizant, Accenture, Deloitte USI, Amazon, Concentrix and Teleperformance. Do not assume that the test product or employer decision rule is identical.
What the Versant test actually is
Versant is Pearson's family of automated English assessments. Pearson states that Versant scores are 100 percent AI based, with machine learning trained by expert graders. Results are produced almost immediately and employers manage assignments through Pearson's systems.
Automated scoring makes the official response limits important. You cannot return to an item or record it again. Pearson says partial responses are still scored, so give the clearest answer you can rather than abandoning an item after one missed detail.
There is one complication worth knowing before you sit down, because it explains why candidate accounts contradict each other. Versant is not one test. Pearson's HR product page lists several, with different lengths:
- English Speaking and Listening Test: 17 minutes
- English 4-Skills Essentials Test: 30 minutes
- English Writing Test: 35 minutes
- English Placement Test: 50 minutes
- Professional English Test: 60 minutes
All current products report on Pearson's Global Scale of English. HCLTech's TechBee page does not identify which Versant product it assigns. Read the invitation carefully. If it says Speaking and Listening, the current 17 minute format in the next section applies.
Current reports map results to the Global Scale of English. Older Versant products and forum discussions may show another scale. Compare results only when the test name and score report match. We explain this issue in what counts as a good Versant score.
We are a speaking improvement tool. We are not an exam preparation provider, and we are not affiliated with HCLTech, Pearson or any exam board. For test format, booking and official practice material, go to the exam body directly. Use SpeakShark to make your spoken English stronger, and use official material to learn the test.
Current HCLTech Versant question types
HCLTech does not publish sample questions or identify a product version. Pearson's current Speaking and Listening official guide is the reliable starting point only when your invitation names that test.
| Part | Task | Items | Response rule |
|---|---|---|---|
| A | Short answers | 8 | Begin within six seconds and answer briefly |
| B | Repeat sentence | 16 | Begin within six seconds and reproduce the sentence |
| C | Conversation questions | 6 | Begin within eight seconds and answer from the audio |
| D | Passage questions | 6 | Begin within eight seconds and preserve the stated facts |
| E | Retell a passage | 2 | Retell the main information in 30 seconds |
| F | Give an opinion | 2 | State and support an opinion in 40 seconds |
Short answers reward direct comprehension. Sentence repeats require listening memory and accurate reproduction. Conversation and passage questions require you to retain the main point and relevant details. Retells require a coherent summary rather than a new story. Opinion responses need a position, reason and example that fit the time available.
Pearson says candidates cannot return to a question or record an answer again. Partial answers are scored, so continue with the information you understood instead of remaining silent. Our Versant question guide provides worked examples, and ways to practise English alone helps with timed recording drills.
The older Pearson India store page describes a 63 item English Speaking Test with Reading, Repeat, Short Answer Questions, Sentence Builds, Story Retelling and Open Questions. Pearson's current catalogue labels that product as retiring soon. Use it only if the invitation or official sample identifies the older product.
What Versant score does HCLTech require?
HCLTech's current TechBee selection pages do not publish a Versant cutoff. The general HCLTech careers site also does not provide one companywide language score. Pearson supplies reports, but the recruiting organisation decides how to use them.
Numbers on preparation sites cannot be applied safely when the test version is unclear. The current Speaking and Listening report, the retiring English Speaking Test and older forum posts may not use the same reporting structure. A role may also consider the result alongside other stages.
Ask the recruiter if the invitation does not state a requirement. If you receive a report, identify the exact test name before comparing it with another candidate. Our Versant score guide explains current reporting, and the free speaking level test gives you a general baseline rather than an HCLTech pass prediction.
How we researched this guide
We rechecked the article on August 28, 2026. HCLTech's TechBee FAQ and job program page were used for the official selection order and the current IIT JEE Main exemption. Pearson's current catalogue and official Speaking and Listening guide were used for product status, item count, response limits, setup and scoring categories.
Current GET, campus and TechBee candidate reports were used only to show that Versant also appears outside the one official TechBee sequence. They were not used to create a pass score or a companywide process. We excluded undated question dumps and did not present the retiring 63 item product as the current default.
A 14-day prep plan for the HCLTech Versant test
Use the plan only after confirming that your invitation names Speaking and Listening. Record each session and review content separately from delivery.
| Days | Main task | Review point |
|---|---|---|
| 1 and 2 | Record a baseline with all six task types | Identify listening errors, long pauses and unclear words |
| 3 and 4 | Practise 20 sentence repeats each day | Preserve word order and grammatical endings |
| 5 and 6 | Answer short, conversation and passage questions | Answer the exact question without adding facts |
| 7 and 8 | Retell short passages in 30 seconds | Keep the main point, sequence and outcome |
| 9 and 10 | Give 40 second opinions | Use a position, reason, example and conclusion |
| 11 and 12 | Run mixed sets with one attempt per item | Respect the official response limits |
| 13 | Repair the two weakest task types | Compare with the day 1 recording |
| 14 | Use Pearson's sample and complete setup checks | Stop heavy practice early |
For sentence repeats, listen for meaning groups rather than memorising isolated words. For questions, hold the speaker, action and result. For retells, use the main point followed by two supporting facts. For opinions, state your position in the first sentence and finish before the timer.
Use English roleplay scenarios, practice methods for speaking alone and SpeakShark conversation practice for additional prompts. The full Versant preparation guide provides a longer schedule.
Test-day setup: the mistakes that cost points
Pearson's current guide requires a supported browser or app, a Test Identification Number, internet access and a headset. The invitation may also require remote monitoring. Complete every system and microphone check before the assigned time.
Use this checklist:
- Confirm the test title, date and time zone.
- Confirm browser, app, camera and identification requirements.
- Use a quiet room and close notifications.
- Select the intended microphone before beginning.
- Keep the headset microphone near the side of your mouth.
- Speak at a normal volume and stable pace.
- Do not leave the test screen if monitoring is active.
- Report a technical failure with the test ID and exact time.
The Versant setup guide covers hardware and monitoring in more detail. If the HCLTech role is customer facing, call center speaking practice can provide related workplace topics.
Where SpeakShark fits
SpeakShark provides general conversation practice, timed spoken responses and feedback. It does not reproduce Pearson's scoring engine, administer HCLTech's assessment or predict a pass result. Use Pearson's current guide and sample for format.
Start with free speaking practice, read how SpeakShark works, or compare SpeakShark plans. For school or candidate training enquiries, contact speaksharksupport@gmail.com.
Sources
- HCLTech TechBee selection steps, checked August 28, 2026
- HCLTech TechBee program selection FAQ, checked August 28, 2026
- HCLTech TechBee job program and current JEE exemption, checked August 28, 2026
- Pearson Versant test catalogue, checked August 28, 2026
- Pearson Speaking and Listening official guide, checked August 28, 2026
- August 2026 HCLTech campus process discussion, anecdotal evidence checked August 28, 2026
- July 2026 HCLTech GET discussion, anecdotal evidence checked August 28, 2026
FAQ
What is the Versant test at HCLTech?
Where does Versant come in the HCLTech hiring process?
What are the Versant test HCL Tech questions like?
What Versant score does HCLTech require?
How do I prepare for the HCL Versant test in two weeks?
What setup do I need on Versant test day?
HCLTech's TechBee FAQ names Versant as a language abilities test including spoken English. Current GET and campus candidates also report a Versant round, but that evidence does not establish one process for every HCLTech role. Pearson's current Speaking and Listening product uses automated scoring and takes about 17 minutes.
For TechBee, the published order is registration, HCL CAT, Versant, interview and then a possible Letter of Interest or offer. Certain applicants with qualifying IIT JEE Main results may skip HCL CAT and proceed to Versant and interviews. Other graduate or lateral programs can use another sequence.
The current Speaking and Listening guide has 40 items: short answers, sentence repeats, conversation questions, passage questions, two passage retells and two opinion responses. The older 63 item English Speaking Test has different sections and is retiring soon. Match your practice to the product name in the invitation.
HCLTech does not publish a universal cutoff on the TechBee pages or general careers material checked for this guide. Pearson reports the result, while the recruiting organisation decides how it applies. Ask the recruiter if no requirement is stated and do not compare scores from different Versant products as though they were identical.
Use the first week for sentence repeats, short answers, listening questions, retells and opinions. Use the second week for mixed one attempt sets, repairs to weak task types and Pearson's official sample. Record responses and review whether you understood the prompt separately from whether your delivery was clear and timely.
Use a supported browser or app, internet connection, Test Identification Number and headset as instructed by Pearson. Complete the audio check in a quiet room. HCLTech or Pearson may add monitoring, camera or identification rules, so follow the invitation rather than assuming every test can use the same device.
Curious how it works? Explore SpeakShark's features or see plans and pricing.
Keep reading
Versant Test Questions 2026: Current 40-Item Format
Pearson's current Versant Speaking and Listening Test has 40 items across six tasks. See original examples, response times, written-test differences, and sources.
Versant Test Setup 2026: Camera, Headphones, Mic
Versant camera rules depend on the delivery route. See Pearson's current headset guidance, monitoring caveats, system checks, room setup, and source dates.
TCS vs Cognizant Communication Test 2026 Guide
Compare TCS NQT, TCS AI Careers and Cognizant GenC communication assessments using current official formats, evidence limits and a practice plan.